HR Software Pricing: What Vendors Actually Charge and the Fees They Don't Advertise

Cover image for HR Software Pricing: what vendors charge and the fees they do not advertise
X icon

Table of contents

Table of contents

Many HR software vendors publish a starting price. Few publish the total. In our November 2026 check, BambooHR, Lattice and Teamflect list tiers, HiBob lists none, and Rippling lists "from $8" with a base fee it does not state. The gap sits in nine fee categories, covered below.

Who this is for: HR leads, finance owners and IT buyers at companies with roughly 20 to 1,000 employees who are comparing HR software and want the full cost before they ask for a quote.

Last updated: November 2026

Teamflect publishes its prices and states no implementation fee (checked November 2026). We use the same checks for every vendor and say where we could not verify a fact. See our methodology for how we check prices.

Which fees add up to the real price of HR software?

A starting price covers one line of the bill. These nine categories decide the rest:

  1. Per-employee base price
  2. Platform or base fee
  3. Minimums
  4. Implementation and setup
  5. Modules and add-ons
  6. Contract term and auto-renewal
  7. Renewal price changes
  8. Headcount basis
  9. Feature gating, such as API access or single sign-on

The table shows what each vendor's own pages state. The sections after it give examples and label review-platform complaints as user reports.

What do 17 HR software vendors publish about price and fees?

Published prices, minimums, setup fees and contract terms (checked November 2026)

VendorPublished priceMinimum or base feeImplementation or setup feeAdd-onsContract and renewalChecked
BambooHRCore $10, Pro $17, Elite $25 per employee per month (the page FAQ shows $10.25 and $17.50 for Core and Pro, unexplained)Under 25 employees: flat $250 (Core), $425 (Pro) or $650 (Elite) per monthPayroll implementation is charged (October 2026 promotion: 75% off); regular amount not publishedPayroll, Benefits Administration, Time & Attendance, Global Employment: no published prices; 15% bundle discount on payroll and benefitsMonth-to-month, or extended term (length not published); non-renewal needs 60 days notice per the Terms of ServiceNov 2026
RipplingFrom $8 per employee per monthMonthly base fee, amount not publishedNot publishedModular, each product priced separately; prices not publishedBilling term not publishedNov 2026
HiBobNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published; demo form onlyNov 2026
PersonioFrom EUR 7.60 per employee per month (Core and CorePro); full price after demoNot publishedOne-time setup fee that depends on company size; amount not publishedApps (Recruiting, Surveys, Performance & Development, Compensation Management, Premium Support and others) listed without pricesYearly subscription with a 12-month minimumNov 2026
NamelyNamely Now starts at $9 per employee per month; other packages quoted after a diagnosticNo minimum statedData migration assistance at no additional cost with every implementationNot publishedMonth to month up to 3 yearsNov 2026
WorkdayNot published (Contact Sales)Not publishedNot publishedNot publishedStandard agreement mentions Flex CreditsNov 2026
SAPSAP lists some HCM packages publicly, for example SAP Core HR at USD 18.00 per user per month; the page does not name SuccessFactors, and other packages are quotedSold in blocks of 1 userNot publishedNot published1 to 3 year terms with auto-renewalNov 2026
Culture AmpNo list pricesNot publishedNot publishedPeople Science Consulting at enterprise pricing; support tier depends on headcount bandAll products billed annuallyNov 2026
LatticePerformance $10, Goals & OKRs $8, Engagement $4, Foundations $13 per seat per month; USD only$4,000 minimum annual agreementNot checkedCompensation +$6, Grow +$4Annual billing onlyNov 2026
LeapsomeHRIS foundation EUR 7, Pro EUR 10 per employee per month (EUR 5 promotion until 31 Dec); Talent Suite modules via online calculatorNot checkedNot checkedTalent Suite modules priced separately in the calculator14-day free trial; term not checkedNov 2026
15FiveEngage $4, Perform $11, Total Platform $16 per user per month, annualNot checkedNot checkedNot checkedAnnual; no free trial listedNov 2026
BetterworksPerformance $8, Performance + Talent Intelligence $9 per user per monthNot checkedBilled separately as a one-time cost; amount not checkedNot checkedNot checkedNov 2026
PerdooPremium EUR 6.40, Supreme EUR 8 per user per month; free up to 5 usersNot checkedNot checkedNot checkedNot checkedNov 2026
Small ImprovementsLaunch $3, Grow $6, Elevate $9 per user per monthMinimum 20 users (Launch, Grow) and 30 users (Elevate)Not checkedNot checked30-day trial; term not checkedNov 2026
PerformYard$5 to $15 per person per month, billed annuallyNot checkedNo onboarding fee stated on its pricing pageNot checkedAnnual billingNov 2026
SynergitaEngage $2, Perform $4, Perform Plus $7 per user per monthNot checkedNot checkedNot checked7-day trial; term not checkedNov 2026
TeamflectStarter free up to 10 users; Essential $7, Professional $11 per user per month billed annually ($9 and $14 billed monthly); Enterprise customStarter is free for up to 10 usersNone: the vendor states no additional fees for implementation, support or trainingNot checkedAnnual or monthly billing; 30-day Professional trial for Starter and Essential usersNov 2026

"Not published" means the vendor's page lists no figure. "Not checked" means the item was outside our check, so ask the vendor. We could not verify the pricing pages of Gusto and Paylocity at check time, so the table leaves them out. Our reviews of Gusto and Paylocity cover what we could read.

1. Per-employee base price: which tier is the starting price?

The starting price is the cheapest tier, and the cheapest tier often lacks the module you came for. BambooHR lists Core at $10, Pro at $17 and Elite at $25 per employee per month. Performance Management is included in Pro and above, so a buyer who wants reviews starts at $17, not $10. The BambooHR pricing page FAQ shows $10.25 and $17.50 for Core and Pro. The page does not explain the difference.

Lattice splits by module: Performance $10, Goals & OKRs $8, Engagement $4 and Foundations $13 per seat per month. A buyer who needs two modules pays for two lines. Leapsome lists HRIS foundation at EUR 7 and Pro at EUR 10 per employee per month, with a EUR 5 promotion until 31 December.

Billing basis matters as much as the tier. Teamflect's Essential plan is $7 per user per month billed annually and $9 billed monthly. A price without the billing basis cannot be compared with another price.

2. Platform or base fees: is there a fixed charge on top?

Rippling lists "from $8 per employee per month" plus a monthly base fee. It does not publish the base fee amount.

BambooHR uses a flat fee for small companies: under 25 employees, $250 per month on Core, $425 on Pro and $650 on Elite. A 10-person company on Core pays $250 a month, which is $25 per employee, not the $10 shown in the headline.

3. Minimums: what do you pay if you are small?

Lattice states a $4,000 minimum annual agreement. At $10 per seat per month, the Performance module reaches $4,000 at 34 seats, so a team below that size pays the minimum. Small Improvements sets a minimum of 20 users on Launch and Grow, and 30 users on Elevate. Personio requires a 12-month subscription. BambooHR's Terms of Service bill an extended term on the Employee Minimum in the Order Form, even if headcount falls below it.

Some vendors go the other way: Teamflect is free for up to 10 users and Perdoo for up to 5.

4. Implementation and setup: is there a one-time charge?

This is the category with the most missing numbers. BambooHR charges for payroll implementation. It ran a 75% off promotion in October 2026 and does not publish the regular amount. Personio charges a one-time setup fee that depends on company size, and does not publish the amount. Betterworks bills implementation separately as a one-time cost.

Other vendors say the opposite. Namely includes data migration assistance at no additional cost with every implementation. PerformYard's pricing page says there are no additional fees for onboarding or training. Teamflect states no additional fees for implementation, support or training (checked November 2026).

User reports. A reviewer on Trustpilot (October 2025) said BambooHR charged for post-implementation support that was not disclosed during the sale. A reviewer on TrustRadius (December 2024) said Paylocity charged implementation per item on top of signing fees. We could not verify Paylocity's own pricing page, so we cannot confirm or rule out this claim.

5. Modules and add-ons: what is not in the base price?

BambooHR lists Payroll, Benefits Administration, Time & Attendance and Global Employment as add-ons with no published prices. Payroll and benefits administration are US only. BambooHR offers a 15% bundle discount on payroll and benefits. Applicant tracking is included in all plans with job caps: 5 on Core, 25 on Pro and 50 on Elite.

Lattice lists Compensation at +$6 and Grow at +$4 per seat per month. Leapsome prices its Talent Suite modules through an online calculator. Personio lists apps such as Recruiting, Surveys, Performance & Development and Compensation Management without prices. Culture Amp lists People Science Consulting at enterprise pricing.

User reports. Three Rippling reviewers on Capterra said modules are paid add-ons and that costs added up quickly. A Personio reviewer on Capterra (September 2026) said tiered pricing and add-ons can add up quickly for smaller teams. A BambooHR reviewer on Trustpilot (October 2025) said they cancelled payroll and were still billed for the HRIS portion. We could not confirm any of these accounts with the vendors.

6. Contract term and auto-renewal: how do you leave?

BambooHR's Terms of Service (updated 18 September 2026) say a month-to-month plan renews monthly and an extended term renews for 12-month terms. Non-renewal needs 60 days notice. The Terms of Service FAQ says 30 days. The two conflict, and we use the Terms of Service figure. Ask for the notice period in writing.

Lattice bills annually only. Culture Amp bills all products annually. Personio requires 12 months. SAP lists Core HR in blocks of 1 user with 1 to 3 year terms and auto-renewal.

User report. A complainant on the Better Business Bureau (July 2026) said BambooHR billed a second month after they cancelled, because cancellation had to precede renewal and they did not know that. The complaint showed no vendor answer when we checked.

7. Renewal price changes: does the price stay fixed?

BambooHR's Terms of Service fix the price during a term, but BambooHR may change the price for the next renewal term with 60 days notice. For the other vendors in the table, we did not check renewal price terms, so the question belongs on your list.

User report. A Culture Amp reviewer on G2 (September 2026) said the vendor keeps raising costs at renewal.

8. Headcount basis: who counts toward the price?

BambooHR's Terms of Service say fees cover all non-terminated employees. On an extended term, the fee is billed on the Employee Minimum in the Order Form even if headcount falls below it. Personio counts only currently active employees toward price and size category. Culture Amp ties its support tier to headcount: under 200, 200 to 999, and 1,000 and above.

Ask what happens to the bill if headcount drops 20% mid-term.

9. Feature gating: which features need a higher tier?

Personio's CorePro adds API access, Okta and Microsoft Entra ID integration and custom integrations. Core does not include them. A company that needs single sign-on through Entra ID must therefore buy the higher tier. BambooHR gates by plan too: Performance Management starts at Pro, and applicant tracking job caps rise from 5 to 50 across tiers. Culture Amp gates support level by headcount.

We did not check single sign-on or API access for the other vendors in this guide. Ask each vendor which tier includes them.

Where does Teamflect fit?

Teamflect publishes four tiers. Starter is free for up to 10 users and has core modules but no dedicated Customer Success Manager. Essential is $7 per user per month billed annually and includes a dedicated Customer Success Manager. Professional is $11 and adds 200+ HRIS integrations. Enterprise is custom. Starter and Essential users can start a free 30-day Professional trial. Teamflect states no additional fees for implementation, support or training (checked November 2026).

Teamflect requires Microsoft 365. It has no payroll or leave tracking, so it does not replace an HRIS. It fits a company that runs performance management, goals and feedback inside Microsoft Teams and Outlook. For a broader comparison, see our guides to HRIS software and performance management software.

Questions to ask before you sign

Put these in writing to every vendor on your shortlist:

  • What is the per-employee price for the exact modules we need, and which tier includes them?
  • Is there a platform or base fee, and what is the amount per month?
  • What is the minimum: users, employees or annual spend?
  • Is there an implementation or setup fee, and is support after go-live free or paid?
  • Which modules are add-ons, and what does each cost?
  • What is the contract term, does it auto-renew, and how many days before the end must we give notice?
  • How can the price change at renewal, and with how much notice?
  • Who counts toward the price: all employees, active employees only, or a fixed minimum?
  • If we cancel one module, does the rest of the bill change?
  • Which features sit only on higher tiers, for example API access, SSO or support level?
  • Can we export our data when the contract ends, and for how long after?
  • Can you put all of this in the written quote?

If you are still choosing a category, read how to choose HR software and HRIS vs HCM vs HRMS. If you are replacing Lattice, see Lattice alternatives. Reviews: Leapsome, 15Five, Betterworks, PerformYard and Teamflect.

Support terms are part of the contract too. See which performance management vendors state a dedicated customer success manager.

Frequently asked questions

How much does HR software cost per employee?

In our November 2026 check, published prices run from $2 per user per month (Synergita Engage) to $25 per employee per month (BambooHR Elite). HRIS suites start higher: BambooHR Core $10, Namely Now $9, Personio from EUR 7.60. Performance and engagement tools start lower, for example Lattice Engagement $4 and 15Five Engage $4. Tiers differ in scope, so compare the same modules.

Which HR software vendors do not publish prices?

In our November 2026 check, HiBob published no prices, plans or terms, and Workday listed none. Culture Amp had no list prices. Rippling published only a starting price plus a base fee with no amount. Personio gives its full price after a demo. Every other vendor in the table publishes at least one price.

Do HR software vendors charge for implementation?

Some do. BambooHR charges for payroll implementation, Personio charges a one-time setup fee based on company size, and Betterworks bills implementation separately. None of the three publishes the regular amount in our check. Namely includes data migration assistance at no extra cost. PerformYard and Teamflect state no onboarding or implementation fee.

Will I pay for employees who leave during the contract?

It depends on the contract. BambooHR's Terms of Service say fees cover all non-terminated employees, but on an extended term the fee is billed on the Employee Minimum in the Order Form even if headcount falls below it. Personio counts only currently active employees.

How do I get the total price before I sign?

Ask for a written quote that lists every module, the base fee, the minimum, the implementation fee, the term, the renewal notice period and the renewal price rule. Compare it with the vendor pricing page. If a number is missing from the quote, ask for it in writing. The checklist in this guide has the full list of questions.

How we checked

We read each vendor's pricing page in November 2026 and, for BambooHR, its Terms of Service and the pricing page FAQ. We list only what the vendor states. Where a vendor states nothing, the table says "not published" or "not checked", and we do not estimate. User reports come from Trustpilot, the Better Business Bureau, Capterra, TrustRadius and G2, are labelled with the platform and month, and are paraphrased. We did not verify them with the vendors. Prices change, so check the vendor's pricing page before you buy.

Contributors
Share